The 7 Chakras for Beginners

The word Chakra means wheel in Sanskrit language and according to Tantric beliefs, there are seven wheels of energy in the center of our body. These are the chakras and they are all connected to each other through light, sound and color. Understanding the chakras allows us to understand the relationship between our consciousness and our physical body.

The seven chakras are the energy centers in our bodies that allow energy to be absorbed inward. Our whole body is governed by three vertical channels in which energy flows, and by seven main chakras.

When energy gets stuck in one or all of your chakras, it can often lead to illness. So it’s important to understand what each chakra represents and what you can do to support them and maintain the flow of energy.

Tuning forks and singing bowls are popular to assist with correcting the energy flow to each chakra via sound. Chakra candles are fantastic to visually assist, and choosing an incense to burn activates and simulates other senses – both smell, and sight.

Tuning forks are gentle acoustic sound therapy. The vibration of this fork is tuned to the specific chakra, creating a smooth energy flow and a balanced harmonious state.  For best results tap the tuning fork over the chakra and move in a circular motion or just hold in the hand because the vibration will know where to go.


The Seven Chakras Include:

  • The Root Chakra
  • The Sacral Chakra
  • The Solar Plexus Chakra
  • The Heart Chakra
  • The Throat Chakra
  • The 3rd Eye Chakra
  • The Crown Chakra

The Root Chakra

The 1st chakra, the root chakra, represents our foundation and all that is related to the earth and what secures us.


At the base of the spine, at the coccyx.

Emotional issues:

Survival issues such as financial self-sufficiency, money and food.



Healing exercises:

  • Walk barefoot on the floor. Remember, the root chakra is all that is related to the earth.
  • Practicing Kundalini yoga can open your lower spine.
  • The Bridge Pose is another good yoga pose to try.

Special foods (preferably organic):

Red-colored foods, such as apples and beets
Hot spices like red cayenne pepper and Tabasco
The vegetables of the earth like potatoes and carrots
Animal proteins like red meat and eggs

The Sacral ChakraSacral Chakra

The sacral chakra refers to our ability to feel creative, relate to the intimate life, and acceptance of change.

Location: At the level of the lower abdomen, about five centimeters below the belly button.

Emotional issues: The feeling of living in abundance, well-being, pleasure and intimacy.

Color: Orange

Exercises for healing:

Pelvic thrusts

Cobra Yoga Pose

Special foods:

Orange foods like oranges and tangerines


The Solar Plexus Chakra:Solar Plexus

The 3rd Chakra is the solar plexus chakra. It represents our ability to be confident and in control of our life.

Location: The upper part of the abdomen, in the area of the stomach.

Emotional issues: self-confidence and self-esteem.

Color: Yellow

Exercises for healing:

Dance. Shake the hips!

Special foods:

Yellow foods like corn

Cereals and fiber such as: granola and whole wheat bread

Teas like: peppermint and chamomile tea

The Heart Chakra

Heart ChakraThe 4th Chakra represents our capacity to love – the quality of our love, as well as our past and future love.

Location: Located on the chest, just above the heart.

Emotional issues: Love, joy and inner peace.

Color: Green

Exercises for healing:

Bikram Yoga
Just open your heart to others.

Special foods:

Green colored foods such as leafy vegetables and spinach.
Green tea

The Chakra of the throatThroat Chakra:

The 5th Chakra represents our ability to communicate and express ourselves.

Location: The throat

Emotional issues:

Communication, personal expression through feelings and truth, the holding of secrets.

Color: Blue

Healing Exercises:

Singing, chanting.

Special foods:

Juices and teas
All types of fruits

The Third Eye chakra:

The 6th Chakra Third Eye Chakrais related to our ability to focus and see bigger.

Location: On the forehead between the eyes.

Emotional issues: Intuition, imagination, wisdom and the ability to think clearly and make decisions.

Color: Indigo

Healing Exercises:

  • The position of the child or other yoga poses with elbows forward.
  • Eye exercises.
  • Treatment with plant oil.

Special foods:

  • Purple fruits like grapes and blueberries.
  • Chocolate.
  • Tea flavored with lavender or spices.

The Crown Chakra:

The 7th Chakra, also known as the Crown Chakra, represents our ability to be fully connected spiritually.

Location: The top of the head.

Emotional issues: The inner and outer beauty, our connection to spirituality and pure happiness.

Color: Purple

Healing exercises:

Special Foods:

The Crown Chakra represents our spiritual connection to our environment. This chakra does not benefit from healing foods but by breathing in fresh air and the sun.


https:// www.mindbody green. com/0-91/The-7-Chakras-for-Beginners.html

https: //blog. mindvalley. com/7-chakras/

Leave a Reply